A lessor may deduct from the deposit all unpaid and accrued rents and/or the actual costs of repairing the damage suffered by the rental unit. In the absence of unpaid rent or damage, the lessor must reimburse the tenant the full deposit within 35 days of the date of the eviction notification. If unpaid rent is due and/or damaged, a broken list of goods deducted from the deposit will be broken down to the tenant and the balance of the deposit (if any) will be refunded. Here you will find a step-by-step guide that helps landlords create a monthly lease. Sources 2009 Alabama Code Title 35 – PROPERTY. Chapter 9A – UNIFORM RESIDENTIAL LANDLORD AND TENANT ACT law.justia.com/codes/alabama/2009/Title35/Chapter9A/Chapter9A.html Alabama Termination Letter – Use to terminate a monthly lease in Alabama with a period of at least 30 days. The monthly rental agreement should contain the following: if the tenant plans to evacuate the rental unit on any day from the first day of the month or after, the tenant is responsible for the full monthly rent. A monthly agreement is signed by all parties. A copy of the signed agreement will be returned to all parties. The tenant pays the first month`s rent and the deposit to the landlord. The tenant must be allowed to move in on the day the monthly contract takes effect.
In practice, this means that if the rent is due on the first of each month, a termination of the monthly agreement issued on the second day of the month must use the date of the evacuation for about thirty days from the next payment of the rent. That would be 30 days from the first of the following month. In the event that the lessor does not provide essential services, the tenant can withhold the rent. According to (Ala. Code § 35-9A-40, a lease can be terminated if the landlord does not do work 14 days after a tenant`s written notification of the offense. The deposit must be reimbursed and the tenant can also recover the compensation costs as well as the lawyer`s fees. The Alabama monthly lease allows a tenant to pay a monthly fee (“rental”) from a landlord for one month with no end date. The lessor will receive a deposit to ensure that the rent will be paid and that the responsibilities of the contract will be fulfilled. Under Alabama Law, Section 35-9A-201, the deposit for a rental unit cannot exceed one month`s rent, except for a deposit for pets or if the tenant`s use of the rental unit results in exceptional additional risks to the landlord. . . .